Team No Days Off

It was that time of year again, packing everything I own into boxes and moving back home for the summer. I never thought I would have said it, but I was actually relieved to move home that summer. I didn’t feel myself… I felt sad, maybe a little depressed, but mostly unhappy with who I was as a person.  I drank way to much, relied on weed to get through my day, and had a negative outlook on life and the people in it.  With all the personal drama going on in my life I realized I didn’t want to be this negative, unhappy person.

I decided that, that summer was going to be dedicated to me. As lame as it sounds, but to find myself. The only way I knew I could do this was to change the life I was living. Not only did I stop smoking weed, and reduced my drinking to once a week, if that, but I also changed my eating habits, my gym routine and as a result my thinking and view on life became more positive.

On the right is me 135 lbs fresh out of school in april, and on the left is me 124 lbs with a 19% BF in August 2013, after my lifestyle change

On the left is me 135 lbs fresh out of school in april, and on the right is me 124 lbs with a 19% BF in August 2013, after my lifestyle change

The hardest part was quitting smoking, because I had relied on it for so long. I had been going to the gym for a couple weeks, and one night I decided to smoke before my workout. I noticed a major difference in my performance, and I was more lazy and not focused on my workout. Also, smoking made me want to munch out especially on unhealthy foods. These two things were the major stepping stones to quitting smoking.

The high that I get from working out and eating healthy is a better and more powerful high than the high I have ever gotten from smoking, drinking or eating unhealthy. I have never felt so beautiful, so happy or so healthy in my life.

I wanted to post my story because I know that it is easy to stay in the same mundane routine because it is what we know and change just seems impossible or too hard. I know it is easy to get wrapped up in all the stressors of life, and the drama of people surrounding us. However, sometimes you just need to realize that you need to focus on yourself. Sometimes you need to take a minute and realize what truly makes you happy, and sometimes that means cutting people or habits out of your life. But no matter how hard that may be, in the end it is worth it.

So my challenge to you… what makes you feel beautiful, happy and healthy?

Leave a Reply

