A Colourful Way to Look at Food

When you think of clean eating what do you think of? I know my answer to this question would be very different if i was asked this at the beginning of summer, and right now. When I first began this journey of developing a new lifestyle, I would have considered myself to be a relatively healthy eater, but the truth was that I wasn’t… not even close.

When I first started changing my diet and eating clean, I thought it was such a boring way of eating, and questioned whether I would be able to keep up with it. I quickly discovered that clean eating doesn’t mean your meals have to be boring, or bland. I started following other health fanatics on social media networks like Twitter and Instagram in order to get new and exciting food ideas. I obviously have to adjust these meals/ideas slightly to work for me and my diet but doing this made me realize that eating healthy definitely does not have to be boring, or bland.

I wanted to share this food idea that my mom had found in a magazine article, in order to show that healthy eating can be flavourful, and exciting. The dish is called Almond-Crusted Fish with Orange Salsa. We slightly altered the recipe in order to fit our diet and tastebuds but this is now one of favourite meals.

The type of fish that is recommended include: Tilapia, Haddock, Halibut, and wild Salmon. Once you decide on what type of fish you want, spread a little bit of dijon mustard on top of the fish. Instead of using bread crumbs to bread the fish, we crushed up ryvita crackers and almonds in a separate bowl. We then sprinkled this mixture on top of the fish fillets. We baked the fish at 400 F, for 8-10 minutes.

For the orange salsa, we combined oranges (2 oranges, peeled and cut into small chunks), red peppers, red onion, cilantro and 1 Tbsp of olive oil.

For the quinoa dish, we cooked the quinoa according to the directions on the box, and once cooked we placed in the fridge to cool. Once the quinoa was cooled we added cucumbers, red onion, peppers, and fresh cilantro. If you require a sauce for this side dish I recommend, the low cal kraft Italian dressing.

Finally, for added aesthetics and flavour we sliced up a tomato and sprinkled with herbs and baked under the broiler.

Not only does this dish look amazing, it is so delich! Happy Eating 🙂

One thought on “A Colourful Way to Look at Food

Leave a Reply

